Tuesday, December 09, 2008

Open Standards and standards organizations

This report - from January 2008 - examines 10 "open" standards organizations and evaluates how "open" they are. It uses a methodology that maps directly into Krechmer's open standards requirements.
The organizations reviewed are:
  1. CEN (European Committee for Standardization)
  2. Ecma (European association for standardizing information and communication systems
  3. ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute)
  4. IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force)
  5. ISO (International Organization for Standardization)
  6. ITU (International Telecommunication Union)
  7. NIST (National Institute of Technology and Standards)
  8. OASIS (Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards)
  9. OMG (Object Management Group)
  10. W3C (World Wide Web Consortium)

Evaluation of Ten Standard Setting Orgizanizations with Regard to Open Standards

Abstract: On 2 June 2006, the Danish parliament (the Folketing) unanimously adopted
Parliamentary Resolution B103 on the use of open standards for software in the
public sector. The Resolution instructs the Government to ensure that the
public sector's use of information technology, including the use of software,
should be based on open standards. Therefore, the Danish National IT and
Telecom Agency (IT- og Telestyrelsen) has commissioned to IDC to evaluate the
degree of "openness" of the leading standard setting organizations.

See also:

1 comment:

Angela said...

This is boring! Get some real content =p